Round Three

Just over this past spring break, I made another trip back to Paris, France. This time was much different than all the other times. I stayed in the more business distric area of Paris. I got to meet several coworkers of Charlie’s (who works in Paris). It was an entirely different atmosphere from the touristy area of Paris. It is much more difficult to get aroudn this area of Paris. If you do not speak French, typically the language barrier is quite challenging. Going to the market is quite the challenge as well seeing as the food is all labeled in French. If you attempt to speak in French to the shop owners, they are more willing to try to speak English with you. 

Although those are some minor setbacks, its still a beautiful and amazing part of Paris. The people are friendly, and there is a lot of foot traffic on the streets. The streets are lined with bakeries and boutiques, there are endless shops to explore. The resturants are delishious cultural food, you will often stumble upon Indian resturants and English pubs. There is a good mix between clothing shops, there are shops with high quality clothes at higher prices and then there are more discounted but lower quality shops.  There is never a shortage of things to see around the business areas of Paris. 

While on this visit I went to see the Catacombs. It was amazing how many bones were down there. The tour was roughly 40 mintues, and the tunnels run under the city. The walls are lined with stacked leg and arms bones with skulls randomly scattered throughout the piles. It is quite the experience walking underground  surrounded by some many bones and skulls staring you in the face. Although it is not the most lighthearted of adventures in Paris, it is definitely an experience I would recommend for anyone traveling to Paris.  

Each time I travel to Paris, France its a completely different expereience. I have explored the touristy areas of Paris, met with locals in their homes for tea and cake, and stayed in the business distric of Paris. Each time I feel as if I’m going to a completely different place, I know there is still so much more for me to discover in the beautiful city. 

Leave a comment