Road Trip

Although most of my trips have been about the destination, its not always the final place that makes the journey worth while. One of my favorite things to do was to drive from my University, High Point University, all the way up to Parry Sound in Canada. This car ride was usually around 16 hours without stopping; there were times where we would have to stop along the journey, and then other times when just driving straight through was more fun! 

While a 16 hour car ride doens’t sound like very much fun, its all about who you do it with and how open minded you are. The drive from North Carolina is so beautiful and and so green, there is so much to see. Not only does one get to drive through several different states, but in order to get into Canada we have to pass Niagara Falls which is a beautiful stop. The falls are about five hours away from Parry Sound which makes for the perfect rest stop.

The drive takes you through many small towns, and I would reccomend one takes advantage of this opportunity. One can always find some dive restaurant with authentic southern barbecue to munch on. Although driving through many small towns on a very long drive could be very annoying to most, one must go into the drive with an adventerous spirit willing to stop for random places that spark interest. While the drive may be taking us to a vacation spot, whos to say you can’t make the journey there a vacation as well. 

3 thoughts on “Road Trip

  1. This sounds like an awesome idea! I will definitely have to try it next year with some friends. I am all for a good road trip because you’re right, with great people it can be its own vacation!! I love getting a good playlist of throwbacks going with a car full of girls screaming the lyrics and dancing hours away! Although 16 hours is a ton, I bet it would be loads of fun with a gorgeous view of this side of the country and then to Canada!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. One of my favorite things to do is to drive home from school with my best friend. It would make 12 hours seem like two and we also made some memories during the drive. I personally love driving because I think it is a stress reliever. We have also like you said found the cutest little restaurants on the way.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog this semester and learning about your travels. I agree that it is a real eye-opening experience where you can learn a lot and grow tremendously as an individual.

    Like

Leave a comment