Germany

So far my travels have taken us through the UK and London, Paris, and Canada; next stop: Lubeck, Germany. Recenlty, Charlie’s father was transferred to a shipping company in Germany, so they all packed up and moved to the small quaint town of Lubeck. When I traveled to Germany, it was just over this past Christams break and I arrived just after Christmas.

Lubeck is a very small town, the roads are narrow and made of cobble stone, and almost everything is within walkable distance. When I arrived Christmas time was still in the air, there were lights strung all over the little town and the Christmas markets were still up and running. My first night there we all walked around a German Christmas market. This was the first time I tried Glue Wine; at first I was very skeptical because it is red wine warmed up with spices blended in, but to my suprise I loved the drink! There were small booths lined along the strees filled with beautiful furs, ornaments, handmade materials, and food… lots of food. 

Germany at Christmas time was one of the most beautfil things I have ever seen, lights were strung covering the sky, there were decorations everywhere. The architecture I noticed was quite different from Paris and London. Paris and London have a very romantic feel when it comes to architecture, while Germany is more rugged with darker brick and, at least in the town of Lubeck, it seems there is a church around every corner. 

The people in the town of Lubeck were friendly, I do not speak any German and I thought that was going to cause issues, but most of the Germans spoke very good english. One thing that I find very interesting about Europe is almost every time you ask an individual if they speak English they will say, “yes, but not very well” when in fact their English almost sounds better than mine! While it is helpful to learn the language of whatever country you are travleing to, but it is still possible to get around easily with most people speaking at least a bit of English. 

One of my favorite memories in Germany was going go kart racing. There was a little track in the small town, and Charlie’s family decided to take everyone out for a race. Of course all the boys lapped me several times, it was a great time! Me and Charlie also went on a farris wheel ride to get a view of the city and it was strikingly beautiful, the weather was chilly and the skys were clear. I could see out for miles and there was steeple after steeple. 

I loved Germany and would love to go back and get to explore even more of the beautiful land. 

One thought on “Germany

  1. I love how you visit the smaller towns of every country! Such a great way to get to know the real country rather than the tourist stricken cities. I’ve tried that glue wine before in Venice and I was also skeptical at first but it was perfect during that cold night! Additionally, I found that while I was in Germany many said they didn’t speak English that well when in fact they did. I think because they’re such a structured culture, their English seems mediocre to them while it seems great to us!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment