Crystal Clear

As I said in my last blog post, Kathleen Island has become one of my favorite places on Earth. Although my fishing experience was exciting, there is so much more to the beautiful place. There are thousands of islands surrounding the small town of Parry Sound. It is very easy to get lost there when driving a boat. I have taken pride in the fact that now I can drive the boat all the way from the cottage into town without any direction.

One of my favorite things about Kathleen Island is the water; the water is so clear you can see to the bottom in many places! One activity I love is taking a kayak around several islands, I love to see all the different cottages that have been built while gliding over the perfect water.

Recently the Jones family built a hot tub overlooking the lake; when your sitting in the hot tub and look out into the open it almost looks as if your swimming in the lake. We always make a gin and juice to bring into the hot tub (gin and juice and rum and cokes seems to be the cottage drink) and sip as the sun sets over the water. The Jones have hats with “Kathleen Club” embroidered on them and in order to become initiated into this club, one must jump off the Kathleen Island cliff. While the cliff is not big it is always fun to hop out of the hot tub and jump off of the cliff into the cold water.

Wild life among these islands is spectacular, one time we came across five different snakes laying on the same rock! Talk about creepy! They also have bears and deer roaming around the woods. If your lucky enough, you may even get to see a baby cub! And of course, every time you see a Canadian goose don’t forget to salute!

I could write for years about how beautiful this place is, I have never been to a place in this world quite as wonderful as Kathleen Island.

Leave a comment