The Loon

After having the most amazing time in Europe, it was time to take my travels elsewhere. This time I decided to travel north, up into Canada! Now once again, I wouldn’t have been able to explore Canada without Charlie Jones. He and his family have an island with a cottage on it in a small lake town called Parry Sound.

Getting to Parry Sound is no simple task, one must fly into Toronto, then (if your lucky with traffic) take a three hour car drive to get to the little town. After you get to the town, there is a twenty minute boat ride, and then you finally make it to the Jones’ Island: Kathleen Island. Although the journey may be long, it is worth the travel time and more!

On the island are three cottages: the main cottage, the boys cabin, and the boat house. Parry Sound is a small town in Canada, but many Canadians own cottages and islands. Some islands have more than ten cottages on them while others are private islands. The lake is huge and goes on for miles, I have barely made a dent when it comes to exploring everything out there.

There are endless activities to do on Kathleen Island; one can fish, ski or wakeboard, go tubing, walk around the path on the island, go swimming, go kayaking or canoeing, lay on the beach, go on sunset boat rides, cook amazing food, and hang out with amazing people! The list goes on and on.

One day, Charlie and I went fishing in this little area called Johnny’s Bay. We had been out there for roughly an hour with our Canadian Beers (a Canadian brand that is better than any American beer I’ve ever tried) and I finally got a nibble. After a few minutes of reeling the poor guy in, Charlie informed me that I caught the biggest fish ever caught by anyone at Kathleen! We took my fish and cut it up and put it on the grill; it tasted awful. Yet even though it was disgusting, it was fun to go fishing and learn how to gut and cook a fresh fish!

Kathleen Island has now become one of my favorite places I’ve ever visited, and next weeks blogs will include even more adventures from this beautiful place.

3 thoughts on “The Loon

  1. I loved this post! I am actually going to Europe for the first time after graduation in May, and then Canada after that. I have been applying to some jobs up North, including Canada, so this was especially interesting to me. I will be sure to go here when I am exploring the area. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds like such an amazing trip! I love to travel all over the world but I always find it the best when I visit remote areas that aren’t well known. I feel like these places become my own littles secrets. This sounds like a wonderful place with so much to do! If I were you I’d never leave! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What amazing travel experiences you have had since graduating from high school – Gloucestershire, London, Paris, and now Kathleen Island! Kathleen Island sounds the most up my alley because I am more into doing stuff (water sports, hiking, etc.) as opposed to seeing stuff. But I hope to be able to do it all someday! Great blog!

    Like

Leave a comment